Off topic: Translated sth in my free time, original author wants to buy the translation. What should I ask for?
Thread poster: Niels K.
Niels K.
Niels K.
Germany
Nov 22, 2021

Hi,

I am translating an indy-tabletop-role playing game for my son as a present during Christmas time from English to German. I offered the original author the translation because “why not”. The translation is done anyways.

I am not a professional translator; I only have some experience because I had to do a lot of translations (another language pair though) while studying.
The translation feels like translating a short novel and I don’t have to really trans
... See more
Hi,

I am translating an indy-tabletop-role playing game for my son as a present during Christmas time from English to German. I offered the original author the translation because “why not”. The translation is done anyways.

I am not a professional translator; I only have some experience because I had to do a lot of translations (another language pair though) while studying.
The translation feels like translating a short novel and I don’t have to really translate cultures or subtleties. Thus it is actually pretty easy compared to what I had to translate in the past.

The original author wants to pay me for the translation. I wonder what the right price would be. Even $0.08/word which I found as the lower bound for translations seems to be a lot for something they might not have done in the first place and I am not a professional. And I won’t do more translations in the future. At the same time I know that translations are often under appreciated from people who don’t do translations and I don’t want to undercut the professionals by too much.

It was suggested to me by a professional translator to ask here what other people think the right price would be. Thanks for any replies.
Collapse

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:49
Dutch to English
+ ...
Why not? Nov 22, 2021