Transit 3.0 Satellite PE: Problem with project
Thread poster: Gary Hess
Gary Hess
Gary Hess  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:32
German to English
+ ...
Jan 12, 2009

I've been using the Satellite version of Transit for 2 1/2 years with no problems. I don't really like it much personally, but it has been reliable at least.

Now I received a new project from the same client and Transit is experiencing problems. "CPU Usage" on my Windows XP machine stays pegged at 100%, and Transit is the culprit. The process "SatellitePE.exe" is constantly above 90% CPU usage. I can translate segments, but TermStar seems to be having major problems.

I'
... See more
I've been using the Satellite version of Transit for 2 1/2 years with no problems. I don't really like it much personally, but it has been reliable at least.

Now I received a new project from the same client and Transit is experiencing problems. "CPU Usage" on my Windows XP machine stays pegged at 100%, and Transit is the culprit. The process "SatellitePE.exe" is constantly above 90% CPU usage. I can translate segments, but TermStar seems to be having major problems.

I've done the usual checks for computer viruses, etc. but can't find anything wrong on my machine. The Transit executables haven't been maliciously modified either.

Has anyone experienced a similar problem?

I also noticed there is a new Service Pack 24 for Transit and TermStar. I wonder if compatibility with the Satellite PE version was somehow lost? It dates to 2001 (no updates since then).

[Edited at 2009-01-12 19:42 GMT]
Collapse

Ladislav Filo (X)
Ladislav Filo (X)  Identity Verified
Slovakia
English to Slovak
+ ...
Project related problem Jan 12, 2009

Hi Gary,

I work with Transit Smart, but never experienced such problem. It looks like project related, not Transit or computer. Try to check to work with other projects, perhaps the older ones you still have. If it is OK, then ask the client to send you newly created project. Maybe this helps.