Sheila Rivaben
Sheila Rivaben  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 22:58
Italian to English
+ ...
Mar 15, 2016

Good morning to you all!!

I've been a freelance translator for 6 years now, and I've worked mainly on technical translations and subtitles for movies and TV series.

Recently, I've worked a lot in the subtitle industry, and I would like to expand my work in this area. I'm currently creating a new resume, just for subtitling jobs.

I was wondering if it's appropriate to include the titles of the movies and series I translated for past jobs, without mentioning
... See more

I've been a freelance translator for 6 years now, and I've worked mainly on technical translations and subtitles for movies and TV series.

Recently, I've worked a lot in the subtitle industry, and I would like to expand my work in this area. I'm currently creating a new resume, just for subtitling jobs.

I was wondering if it's appropriate to include the titles of the movies and series I translated for past jobs, without mentioning the agency, or film studio, which assigned them to me.

I'd like to include them in order to be more specific on what kind of materials I've worked on, in order to attract new possible clients.

Thank you for your help!!
Collapse

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
It depends Mar 15, 2016

Hello Sheila,

whether or not you can mention the titles in your business brochure depends mainly on the agreement(s) you have with your clients. If you had to sign an NDA prior to starting the project, then you can't "just go ahead" and mention the titles. If nothing to that regard had been agreed upon, then you might still want to ask your clients.

Best,

Thayenga

Max Deryagin
Max Deryagin  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 01:58
Member (2013)
English to Russian
- Mar 15, 2016

Sheila Rivaben wrote: