Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
As a student translator starting out, am I taking a “proof readers” comments too much to heart?
Thread poster: Will Masters
Will Masters
Will Masters  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:41
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 30, 2011

A couple of days ago I completed a translation going from one of my foreign languages into English for an ONG company based in Europe. Upon completion, with still being a student, I had it double checked by a pair of professional translators I know quite well, and was told by both that the only issues that were likely to arise were stylistic ones, as the translation on the whole was good.

I submitted the translation, and with in a few hours received an email stating that the proof r
... See more
A couple of days ago I completed a translation going from one of my foreign languages into English for an ONG company based in Europe. Upon completion, with still being a student, I had it double checked by a pair of professional translators I know quite well, and was told by both that the only issues that were likely to arise were stylistic ones, as the translation on the whole was good.

I submitted the translation, and with in a few hours received an email stating that the proof reader that had been appointed to double check my work thought it was of exceptionally low quality as the translation apparently bore no resemblance to the original text. I disputed this (having had it already looked at by experienced professionals in the field), and asked to be shown examples of where the meaning had been changed completely. They refused to do this, saying the only time I could see their corrections and the like would be when the full text has been edited.