Vicky Ch.
Vicky Ch.
Spain
Local time: 20:25
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 4, 2010

Hello,

I have been offered a translation straight to be done in InDesign. I have never done this before, and I'm completely at a loss about the rates I should apply. Should I charge my usual translation rates then add the editing charges? How much usually should be applied for editing?

Help!

Thank you!

Alexey Ivanov
Alexey Ivanov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 21:25
English to Russian
By the hour, applying your normal hourly rate Nov 4, 2010

I would do so only by the hour, because translating derectly in InDesigh is extremely cumbersome and time-consuming.

[Edited at 2010-11-04 13:36 GMT]

Mickey Argaman
Mickey Argaman  Identity Verified
Israel
Member (2006)
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Trados Nov 4, 2010

Did you consider using Trados for this task?

NMR (X)
NMR (X)
France
French to Dutch
+ ...
It depends Nov 4, 2010

InDesign is not more difficult than Powerpoint. The only difference is that the text can pass from one textbox to another, especially if the target text is longer than the source text, which will certainly be the case if your source language is English. So you will have to set the length of the title textboxes and adapt the page length. If your file is heavily formatted, there is some more work than for running text. In general I count the same as for Powerpoint files, that is 10-30% more than t... See more