What is he best Translation MA programme in US?
Thread poster: Yaqoub Mufargi
Yaqoub Mufargi
Yaqoub Mufargi
Oman
Local time: 04:58
May 15, 2013

Hello Dear friends

I am a translation graduate (Arabic) holding Ba. I am planning to pursue MA in translation in USA.

May you kindly guide me to US top translation schools (providing Arabic)?

This is a bit urgent, please

thanks,
Yaqoub

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 03:58
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
US Embassy May 15, 2013

I am not saying that it is the best way but one way to achieve your goal is to go to the nearest US Embassy in your country, and tell them that you are a student planning to pursue MA in translation in USA, and tell them that you need advice. I honestly do not know anything about top translation schools in US.

Yaqoub Mufargi
Yaqoub Mufargi
Oman
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks Atil May 16, 2013

I believe this is a good way. Yet, I am seeking advice from people with real life experience, maybe.

with respect,
Yaqoub

Parrot
Parrot  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 02:58
Spanish to English
+ ...
Check out the contacts in this program May 16, 2013

http://oman.usembassy.gov/educational-exchange/exchange-programs3/the-hubert-humphrey-fellowship-pogram-for-2014.html

They (not to mention Fulbright representatives) might have information of interest.

Good luck.

Yaqoub Mufargi
Yaqoub Mufargi
Oman
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks a lot May 19, 2013

That should be very helpful. In fact, I am planning to use the Fullbright programme.

thanks Parrot

Sarah Price
Sarah Price  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:58
Spanish to English
+ ...
Top Ten List Feb 20, 2014

I found an article that ranks the top 10 translation degree programs in the U.S.

Here is the link: http://www.altalang.com/beyond-words/2009/09/23/top-10-us-translation-schools/

The article describes in detail what credentials are used to evaluate each program.