Thread poster: Jason Cronin
Jason Cronin
Jason Cronin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:49
Spanish to English
Apr 30, 2013

Hello all,

I currently work as a Spanish—>English translator, and I know a good deal of Italian. I'd like to know what you think about developing Italian to become a tertiary language, essentially a working language. Looking at the job boards, it doesn't look too bad, and some of the jobs I've bid for in the past have had a lot less people bidding Italian—>English.

What do you think? Is the market there for Italian to English?

jason

Balasubramaniam L.
Balasubramaniam L.  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 18:19
Member (2006)
English to Hindi
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
There is more to think of here than the market May 1, 2013

Unless you have been exposed to Italian at a very young age - opinion varies here from less than 5 years to less than 20 - and unless you have been constantly in contact with the Italian language throughout your life, you will be unable to pick up enough Italian at this age, however hard you try - there are biological limitations to learning languages in adulthood.

Therefore, at the most, you will be able to use Italian only as a second language or source language from which you may
... See more
Unless you have been exposed to Italian at a very young age - opinion varies here from less than 5 years to less than 20 - and unless you have been constantly in contact with the Italian language throughout your life, you will be unable to pick up enough Italian at this age, however hard you try - there are biological limitations to learning languages in adulthood.

Therefore, at the most, you will be able to use Italian only as a second language or source language from which you may be able to translate. Even there, unless you fulfill the early exposure and continued exposure criteria mentioned above you will not fare as well as those translators who fulfill this condition.