40-hour medical interpreting course into the first interpreter job. Is it possible, or a daydream?
Thread poster: Evgenii Gavrilov
Evgenii Gavrilov
Evgenii Gavrilov
Vietnam
Local time: 23:47
English to Russian
+ ...
Aug 13, 2021

Hello everyone.

I am a Russian native ESL teacher currently residing in Vietnam. Due to Covid complications, I am considering changing my career to interpreting.

During my job market research, I realized two things:1) I need, at least, to finish a 40-hour interpreter course, and also, having some experience is quite crucial.
2) Most of the companies offer positions only for interpreters r
... See more
Hello everyone.

I am a Russian native ESL teacher currently residing in Vietnam. Due to Covid complications, I am considering changing my career to interpreting.

During my job market research, I realized two things:1) I need, at least, to finish a 40-hour interpreter course, and also, having some experience is quite crucial.
2) Most of the companies offer positions only for interpreters residing in US/UK.

How possible it is for me to find a job as a remote Russian-to-English medical interpreter after the completion of a 40-hour course? Are there any companies that might offer that position?

Your comments and advice would be appreciated.

Thank you!
Collapse

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 18:47
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
What you wrote is true, but there is a twist. Aug 13, 2021

Some agencies only hire US based interpreters due to their policies. Others don’t, and they will be happy with you working wherever you want remotely. However, for some reason, they expect extremely low rates for remote interpreting.

In other words, it’s possible to get a job but don’t expect to be paid well when working remotely. No minimums, no cancellation fees, nothing that’s normal in onsite interpreting.

Also, it sounds like you don’t have any experience
... See more