Infix > extract image > Omni Page: problem!
Thread poster: Gracia Navas (X)
Gracia Navas (X)
Gracia Navas (X)
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 12, 2011

Hello all,

I am practising with InFix Pro 4.31 to find out what I can do/can't do with it. I really, really like it, it is a great tool to work with pdf files. However, today I have extracted an image that has some text embedded on it and I have tried to OCR it with Omni Page, but no way: Omni Page recognises a small block of text on a corner but the main area with text (the name of the product and its slogan!) is left unrecognised. I am no expert on Omni Page but up to now I had ha
... See more
Hello all,

I am practising with InFix Pro 4.31 to find out what I can do/can't do with it. I really, really like it, it is a great tool to work with pdf files. However, today I have extracted an image that has some text embedded on it and I have tried to OCR it with Omni Page, but no way: Omni Page recognises a small block of text on a corner but the main area with text (the name of the product and its slogan!) is left unrecognised. I am no expert on Omni Page but up to now I had had no problems, it usually is quite easy to operate.

Any help with this would be most appreciated.

Gracia
Collapse

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 16:37
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Neither InFix nor OmniPage Nov 12, 2011

Gracia,

Most likely the problem is in the image itself. I'm not sure if they have fixed the InFix export image feature to do it at the original resolution, and not at screen resolution. Furthermore, it may lack contrast for OmniPage to do its job there.

If you use these two programs, it's likely that you have a full bag of tricks. What else do you have? Photoshop? Adobe Illustrator? Any other graphic editor that will open a PDF?

Well, use whatever program y
... See more
Gracia,