Expats and first language attrition. What are your experiences?
Thread poster: Cathleen P
Cathleen P
Cathleen P
Canada
Local time: 07:40
French to English
+ ...
Feb 17, 2018

I know this topic has been discussed before, but it's always good to get other and new input. I'm a German-to-English translator and moved to Germany two years ago, thinking I might stay for good. However, about six months ago I starting noticing that my English is beginning to suffer. At present it's mostly in the verbal communication where I'm noticing a loss. So, since I was feeling that I was starting to play with fire, I decided to - quite simply - move back to North America. I just did the... See more
I know this topic has been discussed before, but it's always good to get other and new input. I'm a German-to-English translator and moved to Germany two years ago, thinking I might stay for good. However, about six months ago I starting noticing that my English is beginning to suffer. At present it's mostly in the verbal communication where I'm noticing a loss. So, since I was feeling that I was starting to play with fire, I decided to - quite simply - move back to North America. I just did the math: I have to work for at least another 15 years before retiring, and if I'm noticing a deterioration in my fluency now, I can't expect it to get better over the years, or to not impact my writing sooner or later. I'm curious to hear other people's experiences on this topic.Collapse

Anna Bessonov
Anna Bessonov
United States
English to Russian
+ ...
Living in the US for about 12 years Feb 19, 2018

Your language fluency depends on how often you use the language. I have more balanced English/Russian environment at the moment, I try to read as much as I can and I watch TV both in English and in Russian.

In the meantime, teaching my 3 y.o. Russian and really envy him since he has a chance of being truly bilingual.

[Edited at 2018-02-19 23:15 GMT]

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 12:40