Hev
Hev
United Kingdom
Local time: 09:44
French to English
+ ...
Mar 2, 2021

MemoQ Translator Pro Version 9.6.14

Hi there. Please be gentle.... I'm new to MemoQ. Can anyone help with tags in MemoQ? A client has asked me to translate their website. They have downloaded the content from the website into an xlsx document but when I upload into MemoQ, I see the text of the tags, but it doesn't recognise them as tags but as text instead.

For example, the "strong" tag to denote bold doesn't show up as a tag, but as text with arrows on either side. I
... See more
MemoQ Translator Pro Version 9.6.14

Hi there. Please be gentle.... I'm new to MemoQ. Can anyone help with tags in MemoQ? A client has asked me to translate their website. They have downloaded the content from the website into an xlsx document but when I upload into MemoQ, I see the text of the tags, but it doesn't recognise them as tags but as text instead.

For example, the "strong" tag to denote bold doesn't show up as a tag, but as text with arrows on either side. I can't post here, as the post recognises it as html code and just shows it as bold, but it looks like "arrow, strong, arrow, TEXT TO TRANSLATE, arrow, strong, arrow"

It's a 25,000 word translation so there's no way I can translate it by deciphering all of the tags and including them as text. Is there any way of getting MemoQ to recognise them?

I asked the client if they could send html files instead and I even translated a webpage to show them how the code is recognised, but they're insisting that the only format they can send it in to allow the translated content to be imported back into their website is xlsx.

If it's impossible for MemoQ to recognise them in the xlsx format they've been sent in, is there a file type that you download from a website that I should ask for that will allow what I need?

Many thanks for any help you can provide.
Collapse

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 12:44