Which association should I join? IAPTI, ATA, etc...?
Thread poster: Mara Fernandez
Mara Fernandez
Mara Fernandez  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:16
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 30, 2016

Hello everyone!

I have 10+ years of experience interpreting (not so much in translation work but I do it also on/off) working based in the Dominican Republic although I have worked globally with entities such as the UN, European Council and ICAO among others. However I've been looking at relocating to the US and have noticed that most job offers prefer some sort of Association and I have been wondering which one would be best to join in terms of benefits/price.

I'm co
... See more
Hello everyone!

I have 10+ years of experience interpreting (not so much in translation work but I do it also on/off) working based in the Dominican Republic although I have worked globally with entities such as the UN, European Council and ICAO among others. However I've been looking at relocating to the US and have noticed that most job offers prefer some sort of Association and I have been wondering which one would be best to join in terms of benefits/price.

I'm considering IAPTI and ATA for the most part...

Any thoughts would be highly appreciated.
Collapse

Henry Dotterer
Henry Dotterer
SITE FOUNDER
ATA is good for the US Dec 30, 2016

Mara Fernandez wrote:

Hello everyone!

I'm considering IAPTI and ATA for the most part...

Any thoughts would be highly appreciated.

Hi Mara. Welcome to ProZ.com.

The ATA is a good association for people living in the US. Taking the written test is not a bad idea. The annual conference is also popular. The ATA is better known among lay people in the US than any other association (which is not saying much.)