[solved] Using one agency as reference for another agency?
Thread poster: Frank Feng
Frank Feng
Frank Feng  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 02:40
Member (2016)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Dec 16, 2017

Thanks to reply from @Thomas (see below), I realized that this topic has already been discussed here:
https://www.proz.com/forum/marketing_for_translators/319303-about_references_requested_by_agencies.html

--------------

Hello!

I have a question about providing references to potential clien
... See more
Thanks to reply from @Thomas (see below), I realized that this topic has already been discussed here:
https://www.proz.com/forum/marketing_for_translators/319303-about_references_requested_by_agencies.html

--------------

Hello!

I have a question about providing references to potential clients - I'm a freelancer and the majority of my projects came from a few translation agencies. Sometimes when I try to expand my client base and make contact with new agencies, some of them ask me to provide references.

The best references I can think of actually are those PMs from the agencies I'm working with. But is it OK to provide the PM of one agency as a reference for another agency? I think in some way those agencies are actually competing with each other and will they be happy to provide reference to their competitors? And, will those PMs be annoyed by many emails or even phone calls asking about one freelance translator working for them?

I'm really not sure about the common practice in this business (if there is any, at all) and would like to hear from the community.

Thank you so much!

[Edited at 2017-12-16 13:30 GMT]
Collapse

writeaway
writeaway  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
Your work is your reference Dec 16, 2017