Ethic dilemmas for interpreters
Thread poster: LidiaCentrich
LidiaCentrich
LidiaCentrich
United Kingdom
English to Spanish
Jul 12, 2017

Hi Everyone,

I am currently studying the Interpreter’s Code of Ethics and I would like to provide reasons why ethical dilemmas are among the most difficult situations for an interpreter to deal with.

Would be good to have different opinions and points of view.

Many thanks,

Rose

erika rubinstein
erika rubinstein  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:41
Member (2011)
English to Russian
+ ...
What kind of dillemas? Jul 12, 2017

Examples?

The Misha
The Misha
Local time: 16:41
Russian to English
+ ...
Have you actually done any interpreting yet? Jul 12, 2017

I have - for the past thirty years or so - and never had any "ethical dilemmas". May I suggest you concentrate on your languages and practice interpreting rather than "study the Interpreter’s Code of Ethics". You'll be glad you did, and your bank account will thank you.

DZiW (X)
Liviu-Lee Roth

Anton Konashenok
Anton Konashenok  Identity Verified
Czech Republic
French to English
+ ...
Yes indeed... Jul 12, 2017

For an example of a classical interpreter's dilemma and one of the two ways out of it, I'll quote an esteemed colleague from an ancient forum topic that resurfaced just yesterday:

Aurora Humarán wrote:

A Spanish speaking bandit held up a bank in Tucson. The sheriff and his deputy chased him. When they captured him, and the sheriff, who couldn't speak Spanish, asked him where he'd hidden the money. "No sé nada," he replied.

The sheriff put a gun to the bandit's head and said to his bi-lingual deputy: "Tell him that if he doesn't tell us where the money is right now, I'll blow his brains out."

Upon receiving the translation, the bandit became very animated. "¡Ya me acuerdo! Tienen que caminar tres cuadras hasta ese gran arbol: allí está el dinero."

The sheriff leaned forward. "Yeah? Well..?"

The deputy replied: "He says he wants to die like a man."

Kay Denney