Thread poster: Marta Otrząsek
Marta Otrząsek
Marta Otrząsek  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:57
English to Polish
Dec 10, 2016

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to the translation business - I'm at the point of establishing cooperation with various agencies. One agency got back to me and asked for the NDA to be signed. So far, so good, I understand NDA is one of the documents a translator needs to sign before starting to work for an agency. My question is this though: there's a point stating that I can't disclose the existence of this particular NDA or disclose that I work for them unless they agree to it
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new to the translation business - I'm at the point of establishing cooperation with various agencies. One agency got back to me and asked for the NDA to be signed. So far, so good, I understand NDA is one of the documents a translator needs to sign before starting to work for an agency. My question is this though: there's a point stating that I can't disclose the existence of this particular NDA or disclose that I work for them unless they agree to it in writing.
Could you give me your thoughts on this; is such point in an NDA nothing out of the ordinary? For me, it seems a bit odd not being able to say that I've worked for a particular agency.

Thank you!
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
I wonder... Dec 12, 2016

Marta Otrząsek wrote:
there's a point stating that I can't disclose the existence of this particular NDA or disclose that I work for them unless they agree to it in writing.
Could you give me your thoughts on this; is such point in an NDA nothing out of the ordinary? For me, it seems a bit odd not being able to say that I've worked for a particular agency.

Did they also ask you for 'references'?